The Edmond Sun

October 13, 2012

Edmond Schools announce 2013 site Teachers of the Year

The Edmond Sun

EDMOND — Twenty-four teachers in the Edmond School District have been named site Teacher of the Year for 2013.

Staff members at each school voted for their selections earlier this month.

 “Being named a site Teacher of the Year is a tremendous honor because it shows that a teacher’s peers recognize and appreciate his or her talent, enthusiasm and dedication,” said Superintendent David Goin.

Out of the 24 teachers selected, one will be named the 2013 Edmond Teacher of the Year and represent the district at the state competition. The winner is decided following a selection process by the district’s professional development committee.

“The site teachers are required to submit to the committee an unedited video of their classroom instruction that shows interaction with students,” said Tara Fair, associate superintendent of educational services and head of the professional development committee. “The committee will then choose several finalists. Those finalists must then submit a detailed portfolio and complete a comprehensive interview with committee members.”

The 2013 Edmond Teacher of the Year will be announced next spring at the Edmond Public Schools Foundation Celebration of Excellence.  

The Edmond site Teachers of the Year are:

Elementary schools

Tina Valentine, fifth grade, Angie Debo

Jane Williams, fifth grade, Centennial

Heather Flowers, first grade, Charles Haskell

Mary Burns, P.E./health, Chisholm

Diane Paine, fifth grade, Clegern/Clyde Howell

Jeanne Ksiazak, first grade, Cross Timbers

Mary Lou Schwada, fourth grade, Ida Freeman

Cindy Radford, special education, John Ross

Paula Ford, pre-K, Northern Hills

Mike Franz, P.E., Orvis Risner

April Robichaux, fifth grade, Russell Dougherty

Robyn Hays, second grade, Sunset

Shele Cook, fourth grade, Washington Irving

Shanda Moody, special education, West Field

Suzy Lausen, second grade, Will Rogers

Middle schools

Nicole Baughman, leadership/enrichment, Central

Dave Gibson, technology literacy, Cheyenne

Calli McNickle, eighth-grade Spanish, Cimarron

Erin Buck, special education, Sequoyah

Janel Cypert, special education, Summit

High schools

Josh DeLozier, government/student council, Memorial

Peter Markes, orchestra/AP music theory, North

Heather Jones, English I, Santa Fe

Christy Prather-Skinner, counselor, Boulevard Academy