The Edmond Sun


June 21, 2013

Spring 2013 OU honor rolls announced

NORMAN — Students from 224 communities are listed on the University of Oklahoma Norman campus honor roll for the spring 2013 semester.

In most colleges, students must earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale to be included on the honor roll. Students in the College of Architecture are recognized with a 3.3 or better, and students in the College of Engineering are recognized with a 3.0 or better.

Honor roll students who are enrolled full time in at least 12 credit hours are listed below by the hometowns they provided on their records. The names of students who earned a 4.0 (A) grade-point average also are President Honor Roll designates and are indicated by an asterisk.

Students listed on the honor rolls include: James R. Adrian, Timothy A. Albro, Brianne Joella Barnes*, Tiffany Nicole Buben, Iman W. Chaudhry, Andrew C. Chukwuma*, Brendan Robert Conrad, Carlyn J. Costello, Kyle R. Costello, Amber Lynn Elkins*, Daniel M. Emesiani*, Spencer A. Falcon, Christina E. Gould, Nicholas T. Griffin, Melissa L. Harris*, Zackary Steven Hazelton*, Emily Ann Johnson*,  Ashlen Hailey Kernes, Rachel Lauren Lacatus, Bradyn M. Littles, Brianna Teixeira Loper*, Logan Ashton Mauney, Conner C. McElveen, Derek J. Myers*, Claire C. Oltean*, Alexis B. Pendarvis*, Michael Gregory Pilcher*, Austin Dwight Ralstin*, Andrew T. Rathgeber, Imad M. Riazuddin, Chloe E. Shelby*, Kristen R. Stevenson*, Larry Scott Streitmatter, Kirke W. Suter, Caitlin Ann Vance, Carl J. Walkup, Nicholas C. Welch, Michael Kent Wilkinson* and Rachel L. Wilkinson*.

Also named to the OU honor rolls are: Kristen Elise Albertson, Brooke Elizabeth Anderson, Robert O. Beals, Nina D. Becerra*, Saba M. Bingabr, Madison A. Bower*, Nicholas A. Bray, Taler J. Buck, Brittany N.   Carter, Parker Blayne Cassell, Chris E. Cooke,  Brandon Lee Fanning, Zachary  T. Feeney*, Vivian Y. Feng, Karissa A. Fiebiger, Whitney L. Gamble*, Rachel Nicole Hamlin, Preston S. Hartman, Autumn Christine Heigle, Hannah Leigh Holkum, Brooke Elizabeth Holleman, Hayley L. Hood, Jordan M. Huff, Kailen M. Huff, George Cole Jackson*, Rachel Christine James, Janci K. Jeannotte*, Curtis  M. Jungels*, Hunter M. Kaestner*, Kelsey A. Kuehn*, Mia Ellen Lancaster, Haley A. Letton, Evan Dale Lieu, Thu Hang Krystal Mai, Carey M. McCachern*, Lantana Rose McGraw, Lisa Marie McKnight*, Afsana I. Mili, Robert M. Moore, Steven A. Morrison, Parker S. Nelson, Jordan L. Nix*, Kyle P. O’Connor*, Matthew T. Oesterle, Katelyn Thrish Parton, Kylie Gene  Parton, Daniel J. Rennix, Colten A. Sander, Carson T. Schatzman, Sagan Schoenhals, Anna M. Searcey*, Andrea Lynn Sedlecky, Cale Ryan Shivers, Matthew L. Slief, Kristin E. Smelser, Jordan J. Smith, Nicholas W. Smith, Daniel A. Stein*, Jacob D. Stein, Clara Thomson, Bomaonye R. Tienabeso*, Annah Rose Tresler, Kylea N. Trumbo, Julia L. Tully, Laney Rachelle Vela and Brian T. Whitley.

Text Only
  • OCU alumna earns honor society fellowship

    Oklahoma City University alumna Neilee Wood was awarded a fellowship from the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

    July 21, 2014


    The Oklahoma Arts Institute is a private, nonprofit organization developed in 1977, with a mission to provide exceptional multidisciplinary arts experiences that develop individual talent and inspire a lifelong passion for the arts. OAI administers a program for talented Oklahoma youth every June and a series of continuing education workshops for adults every fall.
    Following are nine biographies of the 41 Edmond-area students who attended the prestigious Summer Arts Institute. The students worked with award-winning artists in nine areas of the literary, visual and performing arts. Biographies were published in each Tuesday MidWeek and Saturday Weekender edition of The Sun through July.

    July 21, 2014 3 Photos

  • North senior wins Edward C. Joullian III Scholarship

    Kassidy Gary, a senior from Edmond North High School, recently received the Oklahoma State Fair’s Edward C. Joullian III Scholarship. Gary’s accomplishment was recognized at the State Board of Education’s May meeting.

    July 21, 2014

  • Washington University in St. Louis names Dean’s List

    YuJing Wang of Edmond was named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2014 semester at Washington University in St. Louis.

    July 21, 2014

  • Missouri State releases spring 2014 graduation list

    Missouri State University conferred 2,381 degrees to students during its three spring commencement ceremonies May 16 at JQH Arena. Matthew D. Iver, received an Administrative Studies/Homeland Security MS degree.

    July 21, 2014

  • NSU names area student to President’s Honor Roll

    Northeastern State University has announced students named to the NSU president's honor roll for the spring 2014 semester.

    July 21, 2014

  • OSU sorority recognized at national convention

    Members of the Beta Zeta chapter of Kappa Alpha Theta at Oklahoma State University networked with counterparts and accepted two awards on behalf of the chapter before returning from the sorority's national convention in Orlando, Florida, earlier this month. The OSU chapter received the Silver Kite Award for Overall Chapter Excellence and the runner-up position for the Excellence in Recruitment Award.

    July 21, 2014

  • Choir UCO Concert Choral invited to perform at international music festival

    The University of Central Oklahoma Concert Choral will perform at the Fifth Annual Campina Grande International Music Festival in Brazil July 20-27. The UCO Concert Choral is one of only four university choirs invited to perform at this festival.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • UCO campus 3.jpg University of Central Oklahoma recognized as having friendly work environment

    The Chronicle of Higher Education named the University of Central Oklahoma as one of the “2014 Great Colleges to Work For.” Central is the only higher education institution in the state recognized on the list and one of only a handful of institutions in the nation given the distinction of being named to the Honor Roll for being cited most often among all the recognition categories.          
    Central joins Duke, Baylor and Notre Dame on the list of the 10 universities named to the large institution honor roll.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jim Klages UCO music professor shares story of hope in battle with MS

    Renowned musician and University of Central Oklahoma professor of music Jim Klages was at the height of his career in the late 1980s. As the cornet soloist for “The President’s Own” United States Marine Band, Klages was a member of the country’s most elite collection of musicians, and on Jan. 20, 1989, was slated to perform at former President George H.W. Bush’s inauguration.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo