The Edmond Sun

January 17, 2014

Top high school athletes win Ferguson Jenkins Award

Awards to be presented at Warren Spahn Award Gala on Jan. 28

Special to The Sun

OKLA. CITY — Warren Spahn Award Gala organizers announced today the winners of the Ferguson Jenkins Awards, presented annually to the state’s top high school baseball and softball players and coaches.

William Hickman, Chair of the Warren Spahn Award Gala, said the winners are selected based on athletic and scholastic achievement.

“These award winners reflect the outstanding heritage of baseball and softball in Oklahoma. These individuals are of high character and are leaders, both athletically and academically.”

The baseball winners are: Bryce Carter, Cascia Hall High School; Caleb Eldridge, Deer Creek High School; Gavin Lavalley, Carl Albert High School; Quin Walbergh, Edmond Santa Fe High School; and Braden Webb, Owasso High School.

The softball winners are: Katelyn Brown, Southmoore High School; Mallory Collins, Sand Springs High School; Bre’ Davis, Piedmont High School; Destinie Lookout, Westmoore High School; and Abby Meador, Carl Albert High School.

The baseball coach honoree is Ron Moore, Deer Creek High School and the softball coach honoree is Jeff Small, Southmoore High School.

The Ferguson Jenkins Awards are presented to honor Baseball Hall of Famer Ferguson Jenkins. Jenkins was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1991, after a 19-year career as a power pitcher.

The Ferguson Jenkins Awards will be presented at the Warren Spahn Award Gala on Jan. 28 at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City. The gala is hosted by the Bricktown Rotary Club and the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.

Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher, Clayton Kershaw is the headliner award recipient as winner of the Warren Spahn Award, presented annually by Famers Insurance to the best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball. The award is presented to honor Oklahoman and National Baseball Hall of Famer Warren Spahn. Spahn holds the Major League Baseball record of 363 wins as a left-handed pitcher.

The gala will also honor ESPN softball analyst Michele Smith as winner of the Bill Teegins Award, which is presented annually to an outstanding sportscaster with Oklahoma ties.


FOR MORE information about the Warren Spahn Award Gala or to purchase tickets, visit