The Edmond Sun

December 4, 2012

Sooner Sports Minute: Heisman finalists announced

John Shinn
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — The Heisman Trophy Trust announced the three finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy. Kansas State’s Collin Klein, Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o and Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel were named finalist and invited to New York for Saturday’s ceremony.

Oklahoma fans should be familiar with all three. The Sooners are college football’s only team that will face all three finalists.

It lost to Kansas State, 24-19, on Sept. 22. The Fighting Irish upset the Sooners at Owen Field, 30-13, on Oct. 27.

OU will try to avoid a sweep by the Heisman finalists when it faces the Aggies in the AT&T Cotton Bowl on Jan. 4 in Arlington, Texas.

The last time the Sooners faced the reigning Heisman trophy winner in a bowl game was USC's Matt Leinart in the 2004 national championship game.