The Edmond Sun

May 15, 2013

Pitcher Lopez makes First Team All-Conference for UCO

Six other Bronchos earn honors

Special to The Sun

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Pitcher Edgar Lopez led seven Central Oklahoma players named to the All-Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association baseball teams, the league announced.

Lopez was a first-team selection, while pitcher Ethan Sharp, designated hitter Matt Malloy, shortstop Cesar Wong, third baseman Matt Johnson and outfielders Tyler Crabtree and Jared Wright all earned honorable mention honors.

A senior from Yuma, Ariz., Lopez posted an 8-3 record heading into the semifinals of the MIAA Post-season Tournament. The crafty right-hander entered that contest with a 3.86 earned run average and had struck out 78 batters in 84 innings.

Sharp, a junior from Eufaula, is 3-0 with five saves and a 3.08 ERA as a starter-reliever. Malloy is hitting .327 and the Cincinnati, Ohio junior has added 11 doubles, seven home runs and 34 runs batted in.

A junior from Panama City, Panama, Wong entered Thursday’s game with a .347 average that included eight doubles, five homers and 28 RBIs. Johnson, a junior from Asher, is batting .313 with 20 doubles, nine homers and 48 RBI.

Crabtree is the team’s leading hitter at .348 and the McAlester junior also has a .514 on-base percentage with 11 doubles, seven homers and 28 RBI. He’s been hit by pitch a nation-leading 40 times, just one off the NCAA Division II single-season record.

Wright, a senior from Oklahoma City, suffered a season-ending injury on April 9.  He batted .310 with nine homers and 32 RBI.

All-MIAA Team

Player of the Year: Michael Schulze, SS, Missouri Western

Pitcher of the Year: Brandon Simmons, P, Missouri Western

Freshman of the Year: Anthony Pacheco, OF, Nebraska-Kearney

Coach of the Year: Buzz Verduzco, Missouri Western

First Team

Starting Pitcher: Edgar Lopez, Sr., Central Oklahoma

Starting Pitcher: Matt Stalcup, Sr., Pittsburg State

Starting Pitcher: Brandon Simmons, Sr., Missouri Western

Relief Pitcher: Andrew Urban, Sr., Central Missouri

Catcher: Chase Graskewicz, Sr., Central Missouri

First Base: Mike Failoni, Jr., Lindenwood**

Second Base: Jimmy Smelcer, Sr., Missouri Western

Shortstop: Michael Schulze, Jr., Missouri Western**

Third Base: Grant Fink, Sr., Missouri Western**

Outfield: Cody Robinson, Jr., Northeastern State

Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Jr., Central Missouri

Outfield: Bubba Dotson, Sr., Missouri Western

Designated Hitter: Horace Johnson, Jr., Fort Hays State

Utility: Brian Wuest, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney

**=Unanimous Selection

Second Team

Starting Pitcher: Travis Higgs, Jr., Central Missouri

Starting Pitcher: Dakota McKaskle, Jr., Emporia State

Starting Pitcher: Brett Abell, Sr., Missouri Southern

Relief Pitcher: Trevor Walch, Sr., Northeastern State

Catcher: Sam Ryan, Sr., Missouri Southern

First Base: John Oropeza, Sr., Central Missouri

Second Base: Michael McCoy, Sr., Missouri Southern

Shortstop: Samuel Domingue, Sr., Central Missouri

Third Base: Eric Dawson, Sr., Emporia State

Outfield: Aaron Rea, Sr., Emporia State

Outfield: Kyle Simpson, Sr., Missouri Western

Outfield: Ryan Abernathy, Jr., Northwest Missouri

Designated Hitter: Eric McGlauflin, Jr., Northwest Missouri

Utility: Kyle Grieshaber, Sr., Central Missouri

Honorable Mention

Starting Pitcher – Ethan Sharp, Central Oklahoma; Tayler Davis, Fort Hays State; Ryan Bates, Missouri Southern; Payton Walker, Missouri Southern; Ryker Fox, Northwest Missouri; George Brandecker, Pittsburg State; Taylor Gentry, Washburn

Relief Pitcher – Jake Heissler, Central Missouri; Logan Hollingsworth, Missouri Western; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State

Catcher – Mike Wilson, Lindenwood; Jake Schrader, Missouri Western; David Weber, Northeastern State; Jacoby Martin, Pittsburg State First Base – Spencer Shockley, Missouri Western; Ryan Bilovesky, Pittsburg State; Paul Trenhaile, Truman.

Second Base – Jon Cotter, Central Missouri; Blake Sturgeon, Emporia State; Chris Santoscoy, Fort Hays State; Landon Young, Southwest Baptist; Taylor Herrington, Washburn

Shortstop – Cesar Wong, Central Oklahoma; Nathan Pridle, Lindenwood; Kegan Knight, Northeastern State

Third Base – Matt Johnson, Central Oklahoma; Brad Foss, Pittsburg State

Outfield – Tyler Crabtree, Central Oklahoma; Jared Wright, Central Oklahoma; Brad Wilson, Central Missouri; Jordan Slade, Emporia State; Clayton Garland, Fort Hays State; Jordan Miller, Fort Hays State; Colby Shepherd, Lincoln; Wade Rothermich, Lindenwood; Will Wagner, Missouri Southern; Anthony Pacheco, Nebraska-Kearney; Kyle Singleton, Northeastern State; Tory Stoffregen, Pittsburg State; Ryan Ventura, Pittsburg State; Corban Williams, Truman; Parker Gibson, Washburn

Designated Hitter – Matt Malloy, Central Oklahoma

Utility – Ryan Busboom, Fort Hays State; Dallas Burke, Missouri Southern; Nate Ramler, Missouri Western; Blake Marino, Truman