The Edmond Sun

September 9, 2013

North’s Smith wins elite 5K race

Memorial claims cross country titles

John Martin
Special to The Sun

MUSTANG — Sophomore Clara O’Connor and junior Chris Elbert took the individual titles as they led Edmond Memorial to both girls and boys varsity championships at the Mustang Bronco Harrier Invitation cross country meet Aug. 30.

O’Connor covered the 3200 meter course in 13:10.29 to nip Anadarko standout Kassidy Williams at the finish line. Williams’ time was 13:16.29. O’Connor got excellent support for the team title from Lana Duke, who was third, Tess O'Donnell who was fifth, while Jennifer Chapman, Emily LaFlamme, Arin Glennie and Amber Colvin also contributed to the team trophy.

In the boys division, Elbert was an easy winner in the large school division with a time of 17:07.40, while teammates Thomas Gabet was third and Ryan Nielsen placed fifth. Following Nielson across the finish line were Pierce Harrison, Zach Mauch and David Lytle as the Bulldogs ran away with the team title.

Edmond North junior Jaci Smith was a runaway winner of the elite 5K invitational as she covered the distance in 19:38.68 for the win. Second place went to Memorial junior Jaclyn Hummel, running unattached, covered the distance in 20:20.24. North runners Jenny Mehner was fourth, Emma Ledbetter was sixth and Julia Sheperd was eighth. Other Edmond North runners in the race included Kelsey Castillo, Ashley Gill and Reilly Emerson.

Deer Creek freshman Ashton England cracked the top 10 with a time of 22:15.01, good for ninth place. Teammates Sheri Snyder, Brianne Kirchgessner, Avery Buck, Monica Kim, Kelsie Hancock and Kaleigh Ewing were also in the elite field.

In the junior varsity girls competition, North edged host Mustang for the Large School first place trophy while Memorial was third. Leading the way for a 1-2-3 finish by the Lady Huskies was Jasmine Rausch in a time of 14:14.13, followed by Abby Cosby and AJ Hunt. Also contributing points were Sarah Johnson, Shae Grooms, Katherine Story and Elizabeth Klump.

Danielle Gonzales was the top Memorial performer, finishing in 13th place.

In the small school division, Deer Creek also got a 1-2-3 finish from Ann Nigg, Amalie Haram and Kayla Martin en route to the championship. Katy Ewing, Sabrina Simmons, Annalyse Williams also finished in the points total.

Memorial and Deer Creek both ran away with team titles in the boys JV competition as Aaron Kekeefer of Memorial took top honors with a time of 18:40.59 and Deer Creek distance ace Bryce Balenseifen posted a superb time of 17:46.50. Joining Balenseifen in the winner’s circle were Drake DiAngelo, Connor Wilson, Preston Way and Brett Zimdars.

Edmond North was runner-up to Memorial in the varsity boys division led by Blake Crouch in fourth place. Also scoring for the Huskies were Tyler Francis, Davis Crawford, Zach Verdea, Cameron Jump, Jacob Darnell and Jared Ashmum.

In the junior high division, Cheyenne and Sequoyah took the top two places in the girls division, while Sequoyah, Summit and Cimarron finished 1-2-3. Central’s Jed Helker was the individual winner in the boys division.