The Edmond Sun

September 30, 2013

Balenseifen wins Cowboy Classic

John Martin
Special to The Sun

STILLWATER — Deer Creek’s talented junior Bryce Balenseifen continued his winning ways at the weather-plagued Cowboy Jamboree cross country meet, taking the gold medal in the Class 4A-5A boys division Saturday at Oklahoma State University.

Sparked by Balenseifen’s superb showing, the Antlers finished second only to visiting Canyon, Texas, traditionally a winner in open meets in Texas. Blaine Powell, Drake Diangelo, Adam Warren and Grant Schatzman joined Balenseifen on the medal stand.

Balenseifen’s time of 16:22.28 on the wet and sloppy course at OSU was 32 seconds faster than runner-up Mason Bivens of Duncan. The Deer Creek ace’s time would have placed him fourth in the large school division.

Paced by Ashton England’s 12:36.01, the Lady Antlers finished in fourth place in the team scoring behind two Texas schools, Canyon Randall and Awty International and  Oklahoma power Plainview.

Joining England in the points parade for the Lady Antlers were Brianne Kirchgessner, Sheri Snyder, Avery Buck and Kelsie Hancock.

In the 6A competition, that had nearly 200 in boys and girls divisions, Jaci Smith of Edmond North and Chris Ebert of Memorial were the top individual performers. The Memorial Bulldogs finished third behind Jenks and Grapevine, Texas, in the boys division while Edmond North was fourth behind Norman North, Grapevine, Texas, and Jenks.

Smith was third in the individual race with a time of 11:36.52 beaten only by Skyler Simon of Grapevine and Devin Norton of Denton Guyer (Texas). Joining Smith were Jenny Mehner, who was 10th; Emma Ledbetter; Julia Shepherd and Abby Cosby.

Ebert’s time was 16:29.78, good for fourth behind Spencer Haik of Glendale, Ariz., Cody Jones of Jenks and Ben Barrett of Norman North. Gabe Thompson, Ryan Nielson, Harrison Pierce and Zac Mauch were the other place winners for Memorial.

Blake Crouch of Edmond North cracked the top 20 with a 17:21.03, good for 19th place.