The Edmond Sun

July 23, 2012

UCO College of Liberal Arts awards scholarships to Edmond residents

Tiffany Wilson
Special to The Sun

EDMOND — The University of Central Oklahoma College of Liberal Arts recently awarded scholarships for the 2012-13 academic year to 91 students, including several Edmond residents, in recognition of academic excellence and outstanding service to the university.

“These scholarships recognize our students’ successful work in the areas of academics, leadership and service,” said Pamela Washington, dean of Central’s College of Liberal Arts.

“We know a college education is the best preparation for a career, and we are proud to be able to help our students complete their educations and become active and engaged citizens.”

Criminal justice majors Christina Burgess and Kaylen Washbourne received scholarships. Burgess received the Criminal Justice Research Scholarship and Washbourne received the William D. Parker Undergraduate Student Award.

English majors Dorothy Cady, Theresa Hammill and Jasmine Smith were awarded scholarships. Cady received the Finney Scholarship for English, Hammill received the Barbara Gilmore Endowed Scholarship for English, and Smith received the Professor Regenia Woodberry Award for Outstanding Work in Women’s or Ethnic Studies.

Corey Hamilton, also an English major, received the Professor Grady C. Watkins Outstanding Undergraduate Sophomore scholarship, the Dr. Frank Finney Reach for Excellence Scholarship, the Panera Bread Liberal Arts Student Organization President Scholarship and the Undergraduate Student Award.

Kerrie Miller, a history major, received the Study Abroad Scholarship to attend the Liberal Arts Study Tour, “Layers of Rome.”

Stephanie Diaz, Jessica Jones, Sara Hawk, Michael Molina and Stephanie Wooley — all history and geography majors — received scholarships. Diaz received the Building Traditions, Educating Generations Scholarship. Jones received the Undergraduate Student Award. Hawk received the Pugh Family Pioneer Endowed Scholarship for Geography. Molina received an award for first place research paper at the annual Liberal Arts Symposium. Wooley received the David Webb Scholarship.

Randell Baze received a scholarship for Outstanding Academic Achievement in Humanities and was recognized as an Outstanding Tutor, while Jonathan Cox received the Vivian Lanier Scholarship. Baze and Cox are humanities and philosophy majors.

Mass communication majors Lauren Greene, Kelsey Powell, DeOren Robinson, Christie Southern and Elizabeth Torres were awarded scholarships. Greene received the Outstanding Broadcasting Production Award, Powell received the Stan Hoig Endowed Scholarship in Mass Communication and the Jack Deskin Broadcasting Scholarship, Robinson received the Robert Illidge Outstanding Advertising Student Award, Southern received the Milton R. Reynolds Most Professionally Advanced Student Award and the Outstanding Service to the Vista Award, and Torres received the Dan Smith Photography Award and the Finney Scholarship in Mass Communications.

Linh Thai, a modern language major, received the Cathy Stults Scholarship in French.

Political science majors Allison Cid, Sara Foster, Zachary Hurley, Marija Naumoski and Mamdouh Shourman received scholarships. Cid received the Political Science Paper Award for Undergraduates and the Finney Scholarship for Political Science. Hurley received the Political Science Leadership Award, Foster received the Finney Scholarship for Political Science, Naumoski received was recognized as Outstanding 2nd Year Graduate Student in International Relations and Shourman received the Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society Award.

Sociology majors Robert Capps, Alyssa Kenworthy, Kathryn Letourneau, Rana Rachidi and Christopher Wood were awarded scholarships. Capps received the Robert C. Jones Award for Outstanding Student in Substance Abuse Studies, Kenworthy received the Outstanding Student in Gerontology scholarship, Letourneau received the Sociology Human Services Award, Rachidi received the Outstanding Sociology Student Award, and Wood received the Elizabeth Berger Award.

College of Liberal Arts students and Central debate team members Tess Botkin and Austin Vance were awarded debate scholarships. Botkin received the Tyler Henry Memorial Scholarship for Debate and Vance received the Doug Duke Scholarship for Debate.

For more information about the University of Central Oklahoma, visit