The Edmond Sun


April 1, 2014

Journalism Hall of Fame to induct 9

EDMOND — Nine journalists will be honored during the 44th Anniversary Celebration of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame on April 24 at the University of Central Oklahoma in Edmond.

Honorees this year are Ed Blochowiak, Shawnees News-Star photographer; Thomas H. “Tom” Boone, of the Bixby Bulletin, retired; Jay Cronley, Tulsa World columnist;  Kelly Dyer Fry, editor of The Oklahoman and vice president of news for OPUBCO Communications Group; Carolyn Estes, marketing director of the Oologah Lake Leader; Larry Ferguson of the Pawnee Chief; William A. Hamilton, Paul’s Valley native, retired; Tim Schnoebelen of the Mooreland Leader; and Jan Stratton, of KSWO-YV in Lawton, retired.

The luncheon program will  begin at 11:45 a.m. on the third floor of the Nigh University Center. Master of ceremonies will be Mark Thomas, executive vice president of the Oklahoma Press Association.

More than 250 journalists, friends and families are expected for the Hall of Fame, said  Terry M. Clark, director of the Journalism Hall of Fame.

“The event has become sort of homecoming celebration for members of the Hall of Fame to come together and recognize each year’s honorees,” he said.

Luncheon reservations at $15 each may be made by contacting Clark at tclark@, or calling

974-5122, by April 17.

Honorees are selected by a committee composed of members of the working press and the Hall of Fame. The committee sifts through all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years before selecting the nine honorees. Nomination forms are available at any time from the sponsoring UCO Department of Mass Communication.

Framed citations are on display in a new Hall of Fame display in the Nigh University Center at the University of Central Oklahoma. The UCO Department of Mass Communication is host and administrator of the Hall. The Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation helps underwrite expenses for the ceremony.

The Hall of Fame was founded in 1971 by former Journalism Chairman Ray Tassin. This year’s inductees make 398 total members. The Hall is supported with funding from UCO, The Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation.

Text Only
Local News
clinic 1.jpg

A guest undergoes an eye exam during a recent Feed the Children clinic.