Alma Wilson Award


Carolyn Thompson


Edmond attorney Carolyn Thompson will receive the Alma Wilson Award for her significant contribution to improving the lives of Oklahoma children, and Edmond resident Judge Bryan C. Dixon is being honored with the Neil E. Bogan Professionalism Award.

The awards from the Oklahoma Bar Association will be presented at the 113th Annual Meeting, Nov. 1-3 at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Tulsa. The awards are two of 22 to be given to recipients from across the state during the three-day event. 

OBA President Linda Thomas of Bartlesville said, “Carolyn is being recognized for her achievements that distinguish her as a role model within the legal community. She has made profound contributions to her community and the profession with unmatched commitment and deserves to be honored.”

Thompson serves as chair of the Advisory Board for the Academy of Law & Public Safety at Douglass High School in northeast Oklahoma City. The academy is comprised of about 50 students who live in difficult, low-income home situations. The academy teaches students about our legal system and helps prepare them for careers in law, law enforcement and public safety.

Judge Dixon will not only be presented the Neil E. Bogan Professionalism Award, but also by having the law library at the Oklahoma County courthouse named after him.

Tulsa award winners are Mary Hope Forsyth, Outstanding TU College of Law Senior Student Award; Judge Miley Otey, John E. Shipp Award for Ethics; Aaron Bundy, Earl Sneed Award; M. Shane Henry, Earl Sneed Award; Mbilike Mwafulirwa, Maurice Merrill Golden Quill Award; and Spencer C. Pittman, Maurice Merrill Golden Quill Award.

Oklahoma City award winners are Aimee Phillips, Outstanding Senior Law School Student Award; San Nguyen, Liberty Bell Award; Tiece Dempsey, Outstanding Young Lawyer Award; Kendra Coleman, Award for Outstanding Pro Bono Service; Jason Lowe, Outstanding Service to the Public Award; Oklahoma Lawyers for Children Inc., Outstanding Service to the Public Award; and Oklahoma County Bar Association, Outstanding County Bar Association Award.

Other award winners are Eleanor Burg, University of Oklahoma Outstanding Senior Law School Student Award, San Antonio, Texas; Judge Jill C. Weedon, Award of Judicial Excellence, Arapaho; Judge Jon K. Parsley, Joe Stamper Distinguished Service Award, Guymon; Bryon J. Will, Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, Yukon; Noble County Bar Association, Outstanding County Bar Association Award; Seminole County Bar Association, Hicks Epton Law Day Award; and Oklahoma Bar Association Indian Law Section, Golden Gavel Award.

The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community. 

Recommended for you