Cast members from Edmond Memorial High School’s drama department will perform Thornton Wilder’s “Our Town” this weekend.

First produced in 1938, the Pulitzer-Prize winning “Our Town” has become an American stage treasure and is Wilder’s most renowned and frequently performed play.

Set at the turn of the 20th century, the play reveals the ordinary lives of the people in the small town of Grover’s Corners, N.H.

As the narrator, senior Kevin Percival shares Wilder’s immortal tale of love, marriage, death and daily life.

“The narrator is an interesting character,” Percival said. “He is sort of a God figure that knows everybody, but nobody sees him.

“He says he was once a citizen in the town. His job is to communicate the message of the play to the audience.”

Percival said he has read many plays but this one is his favorite.

“The play on the surface looks like an Andy Griffith movie, but deeper it shows how people look at life, death and everything around them,” Percival said. “It is a brilliant work of art, and Thornton Wilder will make you appreciate everything around you.”

Junior Lauren McCormick and sophomore Weston Waugh join Percival in lead roles.

McCormick plays Emily Webb and she said Emily is a goody two shoes type of girl who is smart and always plays by the rules.

“She starts as a silly school girl with a crush and morphs into an adult with a deep appreciation for life,” McCormick said. “She goes from a naive, silly girl to grown woman. I see myself more as a younger girl. I like to study and learn and so does she. I can relate to her and how she relates to her family. I cannot say I am an exact replica of her though.”

Waugh, who plays George Gibbs, Emily’s love interest, said it is a different type of play because it has no props.

Other cast members include: Dianne Armstrong, Joel Barneche, Bethany Bruce, Federico Carta, Makenzie Fly, Marshall Foltz, Charlie Gile, Hayden Hamon, Brian Hasse, Mary Johnson, Kearby Lamson, Jake Martin, Morgan Massey, Amanda Morales, Matt Percival, Kenny Reisweber, Brooke Reynolds, Shelby Rigsby, Stephen Sanders, Patrick Towne and Courtney Woodhams.

The crew includes: Samantha Aldridge, Heather Bateman, Allyson Bold, Sarah Brooks, Ross Cooley, Patrick Farmer, Colton Fees, Allison Pittman, Julia Radke, Larry Shropshire, Hannah Starke, Conor Sullivan, Caroline Wille, Austin Willet and Andrew Rose.

The play is directed by drama teacher Deana Neibert and students will be performing for the community at 7 p.m. Friday and Saturday. | 341-2121, ext. 171

Recommended for you