It was like a night at the Academy Awards Thursday for Edmond Police Det. Chris Cook. Cook garnered three of the department’s top awards announced at the annual Officer Appreciation Banquet sponsored by the Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association.

He was named “Officer of the Year” by his peers on the force for 2005, and also was named “Employee of the Year” for his work as the department’s FOP president and “Investigator of the Year” for his work in the detective division.

For winning the “Officer of the Year” award, Cook receives a trip for two to the destination of his choice plus $600 in spending money, courtesy of the CPAAA.

“This is an awesome honor,” Cook said Thursday in a brief speech. “Being an investigator is a dream come true for me and I have a passion for this.”

Cook recently was credited for arresting a suspect accused of raping an 86-year-old Edmond woman in March, and was instrumental in redesigning the city’s Web site to list all of Edmond’s registered sex offenders.

James Akagi, special agent for the Drug Enforcement Administration, was the keynote speaker for the banquet.

Akagi told officers how Oklahoma’s year-old pseudo-phedrine law is helping reduce the number of methamphetamine labs in Oklahoma.

“Last month the (Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics) processed five illegal labs. Five,” Akagi said. A year ago they were processing more than 100 a month, he said.

Still, as the number of local meth labs are decreasing, the influence of the powerful Mexican drug cartels is increasing in the area to help fill that void, Akagi said.

By working together at the state and local levels, law enforcement can significantly impact the $65 billion industry that is the illegal drug trade in the United States, Akagi said.

Other award winners announced at Thursday’s banquet were Jason Eubank, Special Services Division Employee of the Year, Lt. Cleo Land, Supervisor of the Year, and Det. Chad Langley, Blooper of the Year, for accidentally shocking himself with a taser while demonstrating how to properly use a taser to a group of officers.

Winning marksmanship awards for perfect scores in shooting qualifications in 2005 were Sgt. Damon Minter, Sgt. James Teel, Capt. Tim Dorsey and Officer Matt Harden.

Honored for long service to the department were: Major Steve Thompson, records supervisor Joyce Bolding and technical investigator Rockie Yardley, 25 years; Sgt. Scott Fees, Det. Boyd Mize, Det. Steve Day, Officer Chris Budde, Officer Bobby Hunter and Officer Lindall McLemore, 20 years; Lt. Tim Barnthouse, Officer Aaron Randall and Officer Edwin Woolly, 15 years; and Officer Tommy Evans, Officer Nathan Fountain, Officer James Hamm, Officer Misty Leitch, Officer Neil Martin and spokeswoman Glynda Chu; five years.

(David Hartman may be reached via e-mail at


Recommended for you